.

'Multi-Millionaires for Mitt' to Arrive at Hotel Sofitel

Occupy Redwood City will switch teams from the 99% to the 1%.

Courtesy of Occupy Redwood City

Occupy Redwood City (ORWC) will be channeling the 1% for a day, in honor of to Redwood Shores. ORWC is proud to be joined by the Raging Grannies, the San Mateo Central Labor Council, Occupy San Jose (OSJ), the Alliance of Californians for Community Empowerment (ACCE), members of other local Occupy groups, and concerned members of the 99% in gathering outside the where the presidential candidate is scheduled to hold an evening fundraiser.

ORWC will shed light on the fact that Romney’s thousands-of-dollars-per-plate fundraiser is taking place just a block away from Seiler, LLP; the New York Times has reported that a contribution of $250,000 was made to a Romney super-PAC from this address.

However, the exact identity of the donor, which was listed as “Glenbrook LLC”, remains shrouded in mystery. The enigma of Glenbrook reflects what is wrong with our secretive and broken elections system. While some will be protesting Romney for his party affiliation, ORWC stands against all politicians who are bought and sold, regardless of party.

We will be attending this protest as the elite group “Multi-millionaires for Mitt.” We’ll rally for taxing the poor, bombing the brown, and gutting the gays to draw attention to the insulated world in which Romney and his friends formed their opinions about what’s good for “us.”

To paraphrase an advertisement, who needs affordable health care when you can just drink orange juice?

ORWC continues to rally every Friday at 5 PM in Courthouse Square, with General Assemblies starting at 6 PM. The group recently passed a proposal to increase the frequency of their bank protests, and has claimed a series of victories within the past two weeks.

These include: the passage of AJR 22 (D-Wieckowski) out of the judiciary committee as well as by the full Assembly; deferral by the Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) of development in rural communities; and a for Redwood City resident Gloria Takla, a Chase Bank foreclosure victim on whose behalf ORWC has been occupying the Chase branch in Redwood City.

For more news about Redwood City and surrounding areas, including unincorporated San Mateo County, follow us on Twitter and "like" us on Facebook.

Get Patched in daily by signing up for our newsletter.

Evan P March 24, 2012 at 03:53 PM
This is an opinion piece, Patch. Please don't place it as news, or else you lose any credibility you might have.
sick of hipocrasy March 24, 2012 at 06:16 PM
Your statement that "ORWC stands against all politicians who are bought and sold, regardless of party." only shows your true bigotry. Why weren't you out protesting when, "The president starred at a pair of $38,500-per-person fundraisers, including one with high-tech business leaders that reporters were not allowed to attend. Last time I checked, only the 1% could afford $38,500 for a dinner with the president. Why aren't you protesting Obama giving millions to failing green energy companies while taking campaign contributions from their fat cats? Your socialist agenda is aparent to anyone who is capable of thinking.
J March 24, 2012 at 07:20 PM
First of all, I agree that in order to truly represent the 99%, ORWC does need to demonstrate in person at the site of fat-cat Democrat fundraisers as well as at fat-cat Republican fundraisers. Otherwise, statements about standing against the true fiscal corruption of our entire political system are just "lip service." That being said, a few words of advice to you: 1) You damage your own dissent's credibility by throwing around narrow-minded, generalized insults such as your last sentence -- i.e., anyone who disagrees with you is doing so because they are not capable of thinking? 2) Unless you plan to decline or protest against Medicare and/or Social Security payments, among other social equity programs, you should moderate your use of the word "socialist" in the context that you and other anti-Obama citizens are using it. This also damages your credibility. 3) "Aparent" may have only been a typo... I make those, too. But "hypocrisy" should have been spelled correctly if you were going to use it as your user ID.
Roger Brina March 24, 2012 at 07:41 PM
Ridiculous. Patch let's local people with their own viewpoints and agendas like Lou Covey, Paul Stewart, etc. post opinion pieces all the time and they never have needed to make a point to say "This is an Opinion Piece" because it's fairly obvious that that's what they are. Now you're getting yourself in a huff because ORWC has something to say?
Roger Brina March 24, 2012 at 07:47 PM
What are you talking about? ORWC did join Occupy San Jose in protesting Obama at a big richie-rich fundraiser he held in San Francisco. Here are two sources: http://sanfrancisco.cbslocal.com/2012/02/17/demonstrators-greet-obama-at-san-francisco-masonic-center/ http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2012/02/17/MNI51N8TFJ.DTL&ao=2 Get your facts straight. ORWC is against all corporate bought-and-sold politicians, and that includes Obama.
Buck Shaw March 24, 2012 at 11:11 PM
Don't forget Wieckowski ! He belongs on that list too.
COH March 25, 2012 at 08:50 PM
What time? The GOP invitation said time was TBD!
Stacie Chan (Editor) March 25, 2012 at 11:57 PM
Hi Celiene, the event is at 5:30pm on Monday.
Rudy T March 26, 2012 at 07:06 PM
Politions get support dollars, Media gets Ad money,the common guy seems to have no power against big coporations for how we live. We need to keep fighting to gain back what we lost as Americans...balls & brains like FDR. They have turned us against each other when in reality we all want the same thing which will benefit rich and poor in the long run. The short run for personal gain is visible to all, the rich want to become richer before they die. This is called greed. We should not have to resort to revolt. It would be a terrible thing. We need honest politicians that purely represent each person. Forget electorial stuff. We need a free media that cannot be bought. How would you feel if the weather report was spun. Please have a look at these shows: www.PBS.org/wnet/tavissmiley see Catherine Crier interview. ALSO the Wealth Channel "Addicted to Money" 2 parts series, Ironic. City Counsil Meeting on May 7th at 7pm at City Hall, they want to raise our water rates again! Garbage went up 20-30%. Try going to the dumps in our county (Ox Mountain), rates have tripled partly due to Palo Alto's methane gas tap tax, PA is not even in our county. So Romney in RWC tonight, Occupy RWC will be there so will be Meg Whitman, she must not want to be taxed to make up for her crazy campaign spending and also her being is a blatent example of Corporate buying politicians. Meg stands to make an enormous personal gain if IBM can get in bed with Romney...i'm sorry I voted for her.
Katheryn October 01, 2012 at 03:18 PM
Why don't they create statewide laws to protect we people from this type of noise pollution, when a City doesn't respond to the people's complaints? Whey isn't Gov. Brown and Attorney General Harris doing anything to stop this? Please click on the You Tube Link below and then watch the You Tube Video in the story. If you are as angry as many of us are then please add this video to your Facebook, we need to get the word out to the world. http://temecula.patch.com/articles/citizen-reader-shares-mining-sounds

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »